97.5 F
Saturday, September 23, 2023
HomeNewsIncumbent commissioners unseated, Cage gets sheriff nod

Incumbent commissioners unseated, Cage gets sheriff nod

Related stories

‘Dogs blank ‘Cats in 2023 Homecoming Game, 44-0

Before a packed house of alumni Friday at Bulldog...

AHS Homecoming 2023: ‘Dogs vs. ‘Cats

With Friday's forecast calling for temperatures near 100 degrees,...

Ribbon Cutting- Pecos Valley Production

The Artesia Chamber of Commerce held a ribbon cutting...

Both incumbent Eddy County commissioners from Districts 2 and 3 were unseated and Mark Cage earned the nod as the Republican candidate for Eddy County sheriff according to unofficial poll results this evening.

District 2 commission incumbent Royce Pearson was defeated by challenger Jon Henry, 718-346, and District 3 incumbent Glenn Collier fell to challenger Larry Wood, 555-276.

Registered Republicans, who were the only voters casting ballots in the commission races, also chose Cage as the candidate who will face Democratic nominee Ruben Castro in the Eddy County sheriff’s election in November.

Cage received 2,618 votes, followed by Kelly Lowe (1,348) and John Patterson (477).

In the Eddy County treasurer’s race, which was decided by registered Democrats, Laurie Pruitt edged Frank Barrera, 1,583-1,536.

The results will be made official during canvassing Thursday.

Latest stories