69.4 F
Wednesday, September 27, 2023
HomeNewsDistrict 4 write-in runoff decided by Tuesday's election

District 4 write-in runoff decided by Tuesday’s election

Related stories

Miss New Mexico Volunteers crowned at local pageant

The Miss New Mexico Volunteer Pageant was held Saturday,...

AHS netters bounce back from early tie to top 5A Hobbs in four

Minus a glitch in Game Two, the Bulldog volleyball...

Yeso Elementary top enchilada ticket sellers

Lukas Herrera-Simer, above right, was the top ticket seller...

ARTESIA — While the majority of the candidates in Tuesday’s Municipal Election were running unopposed, many Artesians did brave the rainy weather to decide an Artesia City Council District 4 runoff between two write-in candidates.

No residents officially filed this year for the District 4 seat being vacated by Bill Rogers, leaving Sara Greenwood and Sam Hagelstein to throw their hats into the ring as write-ins. Hagelstein won the seat Tuesday in a close race, with 107 votes to Greenwood’s 79.

Running unopposed for reelection was District 3 councilor Jeff Youtsey, who received 104 votes. Districts 1 and 2, meanwhile, both have outgoing councilors in Manuel Madrid Jr. and Luis Florez.

Only one candidate in each district filed to fill those vacancies, with Ignacio Mariscal receiving 35 votes in District 1 and Jarrod Moreau 43 votes in District 2.

For the position of municipal judge, Sara Gallegos was also running unopposed, receiving 350 vote

Latest stories